Sometimes think about the Dung Beetle

Dung Beetles, there are many varieties but they all have one obvious thing in common. They keep their shit together.

No, seriously, keep reading please.

We have a lot of different pressures in our lives. Beyond the base needs, shelter and food, your needs may vary a lot from mine.

Pressure is natural. We are designed to use pressure to do things. On a simple scale a pressure might be hunger. We feel hungry and need to do something about it. So we go get something to eat.

Each pressure adds to the first. So we have something to eat and it rains, we need shelter. So we look for somewhere dry.

Most of us have a home that shelters us and food is easily found.

Dung Beetle has his shit together, literally – you must have seen him on TV ruling a ball of dung. That is possibly his home and definitely his food. So long as his shit is together he is happy plodding along.

But those pressures keep coming. How do I pay the mortgage/rent? Why am I single? Why am I not single? What school/college/university sould I go to? Or send my children to? Should I have children? Why can’t I have children? Why do people think I ought to want to have children?

The amount, complexity, variety of pressures we have can shrink or build at any time.

Sometimes we can’t cope. It happens.

Maybe, just maybe, when you can’t cope. Think about that Dung Beetle rolling his ball of dung. If he can keep going, so can you. Just keep as much shit under control as you can, as long as you are plodding on. No matter how slowly you are plodding along maybe you are doing OK.

And just maybe Dung Beetle is thinking about you.

About chiropterarex

I am divorced. I had custody of my children but now they are in their 20s I guess I can't say I am a Single Parent any more. Though I am single and a parent. Actually since my daughter is a mother I'm also a grandparent. Two lovely Granddaughters, 10 & 4. I am in full time work - which I cannot blog about. I have mental health issues - that I will at times blog about. My interests include Comics, Books, TV & Film. To narrow that to current details: * Comics - 2000AD, Judge Dredd Megazine * Books - Simon Scarrow's Eagles (or Macro & Cato) series, Alex Scarrow's TimeRiders series, George R R Martins A Song of Ice and Fire. * TV - Doctor Who * Film - Avengers (and other MCU films), Dredd (2012) & Star Wars View all posts by chiropterarex

One response to “Sometimes think about the Dung Beetle

Leave a Reply

